Girl power !!!!

       In this last week of glorious sunshine I was lucky enough to spend a precious afternoon with a good friend. It was her day off and so was mine , a rare coincidence !!We had decided to try to meet at some point in the day , so around midday we exchanged notes on what we were doing. She wanted me to go over so we could just hang out , do nothing. (although I did suspect an ulterior motive – getting me to weed !!!) For a while I debated in my post lunch drugged mind  should I go  ????!!!! should I not go ???!!!!  And then I thought , oh my God how can I not go?! This doesn’t happen often – such a beautiful day, the day off nothing to do except spend time with a friend. So  I shot off down the winding lanes to her house. I felt happy and excited and was reminded of my teenage days . I probably didn’t spend a lot of time there but it was sweet . It wasn’t just us though. We had the company of her mother and her adorable little niece. So there we were women of all ages  , sat there on the lawn feeling the grass under our feet, the sun shining down on us and sipping refreshing elderflower cordial (made by her ) and talking about quite a few things under the sun –  lady birds, family, career women, birthday parties  and there was a lot of tickling involved to please the little one.  That afternoon left me with a warm happy feeling . It reminded me of all the times I have spent with all my women friends (that includes my mother as well )  doing nothing just talking   drawing strength and support from each other and  so so precious !! Whether it was in the woods, on a water tank, on the phone , on the train it didn’t matter. It made me realise how much I cherish my relationship with all of them , how important they all are for me and my pillars of support. I know I’ve inherited it from my mother because she is very  strong  in her bonding with all her friends.( she has lost her best friend ages ago and although I’ve never meet her I ‘ve heard  so much about her it’s almost as if I know her very well. ) With all of them I know even as time passes by and sometimes everyone is lost in their own worlds, reconnecting  is never an  issue  and that’s the beauty of it all. I am very grateful for and really cherish all the women friends in my life – old and new .

( I had taken my camera and had lots of ideas in my head  , but for some reason I didn’t take any pictures except of this tulip . It makes me feel a bit silly as I could have taken such beautiful pictures symbolising that afternoon.  So it made sense that I use the only picture from then and also as a reminder to myself not to let a opportuinity go waste.)

This entry was posted in glimpses. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Girl power !!!!

  1. Karishma says:

    this was really beautiful and so very touching..thanks so much for putting it like this..love u always for being my friend <3<3<3<3

  2. Neha Anand says:

    Love you girlfriend!! Xxx

  3. Nicky says:

    It was such a lovely time sat around the lawn with the sun shining. I am touched you wrote about it and happy times. Cheers to girl power x

  4. Anonymous says:

    Brings back so many memories and all good, all pleasant, of us …as teenagers, basking in the sunlight, sometimes on the lawn, others on the terrace of someone’s house! All of them equally fun and make for such exquisite memories! Thanks for brightening up my day with these lovely pictures in my head! 🙂

Leave a Reply

